This beautiful building, unique in Montenegro, is located close to Pasha’s Mosque. It was built in 1743 in the form of a simple mosque, with a middle vault surrounded by several small domes. In the hamam there were several small rooms where the visitors used to prepare for the bath and where they could have a rest after the bath. The biggest room was mejdan – empty space, covered by a dome, which led to the other smaller rooms, also covered by domes. In the rooms for bathing there were troughs which were filled by warm and cold water coming from the walls. Light could come in through the openings on the domes, so that those who were visiting the hamam used to say that this was „a beautiful building with a lot of light“. Behind the bathing room there was a reservoir with warm water.
After people had had a bath, they used to to have a rest and a cup of coffee. There was a beautiful platan nearby, where the Ulcinjians enjoyed its shade relaxing, talking and smoking their long chibuks – pipes.
There were days and hours when the hamam could be used by men and days and hours when it was used by women. On those days when it was used by women you could see their clothes hanging over the front door as a warning for the men not to come closer. Men used to go to the hamam in the morning and after it they went to work. Women would first finish their house chores, and then go to have a bath. Men went to the hamam individually, women always in groups.
We expect that this beautiful building will have its main function renewed soon, for the happiness of both the locals and the guests.